top of page
Writer's picturesofiahofstad

Why the Journey?

Back in May 2022, Kayla and I had the crazy idea of moving to Hawaii. Little did we know, this was a calling from God to do just that. Months went by and the idea never really left our minds. We kept thinking up 'pros and cons’ lists to try and come to a decision, but it was always just an idea.


In October we attended a Hillsong United concert where we met two ladies who told us they went to YWAM and it was the best experience they ever had and changed their faith forever. The funny thing is, little "coincidences" like these, kept occuring.


I ended up going home for a week for Thanksgiving and that's when it all hit. I felt God's voice calling me to go. I wasn't scared to leave my friends, I was no longer scared about not having enough money. I was drawn to apply. On my drive home I called Kayla and she told me she had the same exact feeling.


With the stars aligning we got everything in place to leave. This was a multi-stage process and was a daunting task. To start we had to get in after applying a month before we'd be leaving. Next, we had to get our leases for our apartments covered. We also needed to find the money for the initial payments. The list goes on... However, by the grace of God alone all of these tasks were completed before we had to leave!


This trip is going to help me grow in my faith and help others as well. I'm looking forward to learning how I can help others with my gifts and use my abilities for the glory of God!


111 views

Recent Posts

See All

Week One.

Wow. This has been the most life changing and incredible experience I’ve ever had. If you had asked me one week ago what YWAM stood for...

The day before…

Here we are sitting in the airport, as we wait the feeling that we are really about to do this doesn't set in. "All things are possible...

What is YWAM?

YWAM Kona trains young people to know God so they can transform the world. GOD HAS A UNIQUE CALLING ON YOUR LIFE. WE HELP YOU FIND IT. To...

留言


bottom of page